Select Page

On 24 August 2020, the European Commission adopted a package of proposals to strengthen trade between the European Union and neighbouring countries in the pan-Euro-Mediterranean region (MEP). The proposals will modernise the EU`s preferential trade agreements with 20 EMP trading partners by making the “rules of origin” of these agreements more flexible and business-friendly. The proposals aim to change the rules of origin in the EU bilateral agreements with 20 parties to the PEP agreement: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland, the Faroe Islands, Turkey, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine (this name should not be interpreted as recognition of a State of Palestine and does not affect the individual positions of the Member States in this area) , Georgia , Republic of Moldova, Ukraine, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Northern Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Kosovo. On 24 August 2020, the European Commission adopted a package of proposals to modernise the rules of origin in the pan-Euro-Mediterranean region (EMP). However, the current proposals are not intended to (formally) amend the EMP agreement – a harmonization instrument designed to replace the existing bilateral rules of origin between the European Union (EU) and the various EMP countries with a single set of rules. On the contrary, the proposals deal with changes to the protocols of origin concluded bilaterally between the EU and certain pessiers. This approach is due to the inability of the parties to complete the revision of the EMP agreement on the basis of previous EU proposals. The current set of proposals would allow the empuagers of the EMP who supported the amendment to the pessim Convention on the basis of the EU draft to start implementing the updated provisions without the agreement of the opposing parties. The proposed amendments relate to original bilateral protocols in EU trade agreements with the 20 parties (out of a total of 24) to the EMP agreement: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Egypt, faroe islands, Georgia, Iceland, Israel, Jordan, Kosovo, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Moldova, Montenegro, northern Macedonia, Norway, Palestine, Serbia Switzerland, Ukraine and Ukraine. Before coming into force, the proposed rules must be approved by the COUNCIL of the EU and then formally approved by each of the parties to the trade agreement they amend. According to the European Commission, the new rules could come into force in the first half of 2021. The aim is to change the rules of origin in the following EU bilateral agreements with the following contact parties: Deloitte`s Global Trade Advisory specialists are part of a global network of experts who provide expert assistance on global trade issues.

On 24 August 2020, the European Commission, with 20 parties to the pan-European trade agreement, adopted a number of proposals, including more flexible and business-friendly rules of origin.